Travels in Turkey

We’ve told you a bit about our travels in Morocco so now we thought we’d share some of the wonders we found on a trip to Turkey earlier this year.  I am a regular traveller to Turkey and generally play it very safe, gold is BIG in Turkey, items are purchased by the weight with very little regard to the detail or design involved.  Jewellery in Turkey is often bought as an investment, but to say simply that is to deny some of the stunning design and work that goes into some of the designs that can be found.  Here are some of my favourites:

 

DSC08331

 

You can see the type of displays they generally have in the jewellery quarter – lots of gold and no prices!  The centrepiece of the above picture is this absolutely stunning leaf with butterfly and flower detail.  My photographs really don’t do it justice, definitely my favourite item this year.

 leaf

Traditional designs seem to have come to the fore recently, but I was surprised at the modern designs I found too this year, in particular the display below seemed to feature the best of both worlds:

 DSC08332

The above three pieces are all so different, the centerpiece was a stunning large gem with a traditional look and modern twist, to it’s right is this fabulous fish skeleton design, really unusual!

DSC08333

To the left is this much more traditional design, but again it definitely has the look of the modern in it:

traditional

Whilst yellow gold has been the staple of Turkish design there is a definite move over the last couple of years towards white gold.

 DSC08334

I adore this simple but really effective design – what you can’t see well from the picture is the stunning effect from all the diamonds making up the flowers…yes it was diamond…it was way out of my budget…
 DSC08335

I think this was the first time I saw any real rose gold either too, the three tactile bangles below would look fab all stacked up together!

DSC08336

I am really fond of the use of traditional shapes and tessellating patterns which can be found in Turkish (and other!) jewellery, the bangles below were a fabulous example of this:

DSC08338 

DSC08339 

I also found this unusual ring – I am not convinced it would be the most comfortable thing to wear but what a great look!

DSC08340

Last but not least was my absolute favourite, featuring both earrings and pendant I very nearly invested a months wages in this necklace, I love the simple look but with traditional detailing, very classic.

  

DSC08374 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Travels in Turkey

  1. This looks like heaven to me. I just adore gold and I never feel like it gets enough love in the UK. The final piece in your post is gorgeous, but my absolute favourite has got to be the little fish skeleton. How incredibly unusual! I would love to have that little fishy in my collection of gold. (How much did it retail for?) (o:

    Like

Leave a Reply

